PRINCIPALS: Please Share These Minutes with Your Athletic Director Regular Meeting of PIAA District 6 – April 24, 2014

Call to Order of the April 24, 2014, Meeting

Chairman Crumrine called the meeting of the District 6 Committee to order at 4:00 PM at the Blair County Convention Center. Present were: Alberta Ake, David Caldwell, Ralph Cecere Jr., Michael Cacciotti, Kathy Getz, Kim Hubler, Michael Hudak, Dean Rossi, Charles Glasser, William Marshall, James Price, Philip Riccio, Richard Scialabba, Michael Vuckovich and Curtis Whitesel. Thomas Kakabar and Gary Jubas were not present.

Approval of Minutes

On a motion by Alberta Ake and James Price, the minutes from the March 11, 2014 meeting were approved.

Financial Reports

On a motion by Curtis Whitesel and Richard Scialabba, the Committee unanimously approved the March 2014 Financial Report.

Eligibility Hearings

On a motion by Michael Vuckovich and Alberta Ake, eligibility was granted to Joleen Brink, transferring from Punxy Christian to Harmony. Joleen is eligible to participate in athletic at Harmony with a vote of 16-0.

On a motion by Michael Vuckovich and Alberta Ake, eligibility was granted to Jisheng Le, transferring from China to Bishop Guilfoyle. Jisheng is eligible to participate in athletic at Bishop Guifoyle with a vote of 16-0.

On a motion by Ralph Cecere and Curtis Whitesel, eligibility was denied to Deion Moore who was requesting another year of eligibility to play football at Greater Johnstown, based on Article VIII, Section 1A, Period of Participation. The vote was 8-7, with David Caldwell abstaining.

Foreign Exchange Eligibility Hearings

On a motion by Kim Hubler and Michael Vuckovich, the following students have a J1 VISA and are approved to participate in sports: Please provide Chairman Crumrine with the PIAA form, J1Visa and the CIPPE form when asking for eligibility.

Ujin Kim	Korea	Bishop Guilfoyle
Silvia Galarza Figueroa	Ecuador	Mount Union
Hauke Graf	Germany	Marion Center

Sportsmanship

Michael Hudak and Kathy Getz reviewed the below-listed disqualification forms.

BB	Central	player	unsportsmanlike conduct
BB	Homer Center	player	shoving another player
SB	Bellwood Antis	coach	unsportsmanlike conduct
BB	Blairsville	player	contact with the catcher

Communications

A motion was made by Ralph Cecere and Kathy Getz to award four \$500.00 sportsmanship scholarships (2 male and 2 female). The motion passed with a vote of 16-0.

A motion was made by Kim Hubler and Richard Scialabba to accept the actions from Tyrone Area regarding the incident involving their coach. If the situation should come before the Committee again sanctions could be put in place by the District 6 Committee.

A motion was made by Ralph Cecere and Dean Rossi for the Committee to accept some of the actions taken by Bishop McCort, specifically moving the locker room which will separate the officials and the players. The Committee did not accept the actions taken against the coach. It was suggested that Bishop McCort revisit the situation and contact Dr. Crumrine regarding their actions.

<u>Annual Banquet</u>

The Annual Membership Banquet was held at the Blair County Convention Center in Altoona, at 6:00 PM this date. Chairman Crumrine, the Master of Ceremonies, welcomed guests and introduced the District 6 Committee members. Greg Biller reviewed the changes in the By-laws and Rules and Policies regulation changes. Patrick Gebhart reviewed the proposed amendments to the PIAA Constitution.

D-6 Sportsmanship medals were distributed at the annual meeting. The names of nominees that were submitted from each District 6 school will be included with the May minutes. The following athletes were chosen to receive a monetary scholarship from the District 6 Committee:

- Carrie Rager, Ferndale
- Joe Carnevali, Ferndale
- Taylor Collison, Penns Valley
- Jordyn Swogger, Tyrone

A special thank you goes out to the election committee, Joseph Skura, Bishop Carroll, Joe Gironda, Forest Hills and Corey Wertz, Mount Union, for counting the 2014 election ballots. The election results are as follows:

Senior High Representatives serving for a one-year term beginning 2014/2015

David Crumrine – Central Michael Vuckovich – Greater Johnstown Curtis Whitesel – Mount Union Jody Rainey – Homer Center Ralph Cecere Jr. – Portage Area William Marshall – Penn Cambria

<u>Athletic Director's Representative serving for a two-year term beginning 2014/2016</u> Dean Rossi - Huntingdon

The Next Meeting

The next meeting of the PIAA District 6 Committee will be held on Wednesday, May 7, 2014, in the library at Hollidaysburg Area High School starting at 3:30 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Sherry Montgomery Secretary/Treasurer